AIST appoints new chief executive

 — 1 minute read

Eva Scheerlinck has been confirmed as the permanent replacement for departing Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees chief executive Tom Garcia.

Tom Garcia, AIST, Eva Scheerlinck

AIST announced the internal appointment of Ms Scheerlinck as acting chief executive on 2 March 2017 pending the finalisation of a recruitment process.

The industry fund lobby group has now announced Ms Scheerlinck's permanent appointment as chief executive following what it describes as an "extensive search".


Ms Scheerlinck replaces Tom Garcia, who joined AIST in February 2013 and resigned on 2 March 2017 to join AustralianSuper as head of product.

Ms Scheerlinck has been the head of governance and stewardship at AIST for the past six years.

AIST also announced today the composition of its 2017 board, which saw Gerard Noonan, Michael O’Connor and David Smith all re-elected as trustee representative directors and Louise du Pre-Alba re-elected as a fund representative director.

Suzette Thurman from First State Super is a new addition to the board and will serve as a fund representative director.

Other members of the board include Geoff Lake of Vision Super, Craig Peate of Local Government Super, Catherine Bolger of Mine Wealth + Wellbeing and SAS Trustee Corporation, Mark Puli of ESSSuper, Deborah Blakey of HESTA and Naomi Edwards of Tasplan.

The AIST board will elect a president for the next two years when it meets in April 2017.

Read more:

CommInsure unscathed after ASIC investigation

Super funds must shift focus to younger members

Panorama to ‘radically simplify’ BT’s business

Higher fees don't mean better returns: report

ASIC fines Barclays entities 


AIST appoints new chief executive
Tom Garcia, AIST, Eva Scheerlinck
ID logo


related articles

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.