New Productivity Commission chair appointed

By Reporter
 — 1 minute read

Treasurer Scott Morrison has appointed a full-time chair and commissioner to the Productivity Commission for a five-year period.

Michael Brennan, currently deputy secretary of the fiscal group within Treasury, has been appointed as the full-time chair of the Productivity Commission.

Mr Brennan will occupy the role for five years, commencing on 11 September 2018, said Treasurer Scott Morrison.


"In April 2018, I requested that the Secretary to the Treasury, Mr John Fraser undertake a full merit-based selection process for the Chair position," Mr Morrison said.

"Mr Peter Harris advised that he would not seek reappointment when his current term as Chair expires on 10 September."

A selection advisory committee report was subsequently formed to provide a selection report to the Treasurer, which unanimously recommended Mr Brennan.

"I congratulate Mr Brennan on his appointment and look forward to him making a significant contribution to the important work of the Commission going forward," Mr Morrison said.

"I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Peter Harris AO as the outgoing Chair of the Commission. Mr Harris has demonstrated strong leadership and dedication in advocating for important public policy reforms, balancing a range of community interests in contentious and often complex policy areas.

"Mr Harris has made major contributions to a range of inquiries of significance to the prosperity of Australian community, including the inquiries into superannuation and competition in the Australian financial system, and the substantial reform agenda offered by the first five-yearly Productivity Review," Mr Morrison said.


New Productivity Commission chair appointed
investordaily image
ID logo


related articles

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.