Govt announces key APRA appointments

— 1 minute read

Treasurer Scott Morrison has this afternoon announced new appointments to APRA, including the former chief executive of Suncorp Life.

Mr Morrison announced that Helen Rowell will take on the position of full-time deputy chair of APRA for a term up to and including 30 June 2018.

“Mrs Rowell joined APRA in 2002 and has held a number of executive roles prior to being appointed a member in 2013. Her primary focus at APRA is the superannuation industry. She is very well regarded by the financial services industry,” said Mr Morrison.


“Prior to joining APRA, Mrs Rowell was a partner at the international consulting firm Towers Perrin. She is also a Fellow and past President of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia.”

Geoff Summerhayes has also been announced as a full-time member of APRA for a term from 1 January 2016 up to and including 31 December 2020.

“Mr Summerhayes was most recently the chief executive officer of Suncorp Life Australia and New Zealand. Prior to becoming the chief executive of Suncorp Life, Mr Summerhayes held senior positions in National Australia Bank and MLC Limited,” said Mr Morrison.



Govt announces key APRA appointments
investordaily image
ID logo

related articles

promoted stories

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.