APRA awards finance research scholarships

 — 1 minute read

APRA has awarded two students from the University of New South Wales and the University of Melbourne with its annual Brian Gray Scholarships.

The grants valued at $15,000 each, support students pursuing careers in finance, economics, actuarial science, statistics or related disciplines. Under the program, recipients study an agreed research topic and present their findings to APRA and RBA staff upon completion.

Luke Zhou, honours candidate, Bachelor of Actuarial Studies, University of New South Wales has received a grant to conduct a “structured investigation of retirement income products.”


Meanwhile Raymond He, honours candidate, Bachelor of Commerce at the University of Melbourne will be “exploring gains to monetary policy cooperation if authorities use exchange rates as their monetary policy instrument.”

The Brian Gray Scholarship program was established by APRA and the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) in 2002 in memory of Brian Gray, former APRA executive general manager, policy research and consulting. Mr Gray has spent more than two decades shaping regulatory policy in the financial area in his roles at the RBA and APRA.

The program is open to Australian and New Zealand citizens and permanent residents completing their honours year or postgraduate studies on topics of relevance to APRA and the RBA.


APRA awards finance research scholarships
investordaily image
ID logo
Sarah Simpkins

Sarah Simpkins

Sarah Simpkins is a journalist at Momentum Media, reporting primarily on banking, financial services and wealth. 

Prior to joining the team in 2018, Sarah worked in trade media and produced stories for a current affairs program on community radio. 

You can contact her on [email protected].


related articles

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.