Second APRA deputy chair legislated

By Reporter
 — 1 minute read

The government has passed legislation that will create the previously-announced position of co-deputy chair.

APRA will have a second deputy chair alongside current deputy chair Helen Rowell after the government passed legislation creating the role.

Announcing the passage of the legislation, Treasurer Scott Morrison confirmed he will be nominating Treasury deputy secretary John Lonsdale to the role, as flagged in May 2018.


Mr Lonsdale’s appointment will be conditional upon the Governor-General’s approval, said Mr Morrison.

“Mr Lonsdale was most recently the Deputy Secretary, Markets Group at the Treasury. He will bring to APRA a deep knowledge of the financial system and policy expertise acquired in his over 30 years at Treasury,” he said.

“He also played a critical role in helping to shape the current regulatory agenda in Australia through his role as head of the Secretariat of the Financial System Inquiry in 2014.”




Stimulate new ideas. Stimulate new thinking. Top up your CPD and hear from industry experts with InvestorDaily’s Knowledge Centre. Keep up to date with the latest trends and reforms, all while adding to your CPD. Explore the knowledge centre Knowledge Centre now. 

Second APRA deputy chair legislated
investordaily image
ID logo


related articles

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.