Financial services execs join clean energy board

By Aleks Vickovich
 — 1 minute read

The federal government has named a former Westpac executive and the SMSF Association managing director as new appointees to the Clean Energy Finance Corporation board.

In a joint statement, Minister for Environment and Energy Josh Frydenberg and Minister for Finance Mathias Cormann announced that former Westpac deputy chief executive Philip Coffey and SMSFA managing director Andrea Slattery have been appointed to the CEFC board, alongside Laura Reed, former CEO of Spark Infrastructure.

“The new appointments bring experience and skills in finance and investment, energy markets and corporate governance skills and add to the geographical diversity to the board,” the statement said.


In addition to his role at Westpac, Mr Coffey is a senior fellow at Finsia and sits on the boards of Lendlease and Hastings Management.

Ms Slattery ran the SMSFA – previously known as the SMSF Professionals Association of Australia (SPAA) – for much of its history and retains and advisory role at the association as well as being a non-executive director of Argo Global Listed Infrastructure.

The statement describes the government body as a “specialist clean energy financier, investing with commercial rigour to increase the flow of finance into renewable energy, energy efficiency and low emissions technologies”.

Current CEFC board members Martijn Wilder and Paul Binsted will step down on 31 January 2018, with the new appointees to commence on 1 February.


Financial services execs join clean energy board
investordaily image
ID logo


related articles

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.