investor daily logo

Michael Hawker to leave Westpac board

By Jessica Penny
2 minute read

An experienced financial services leader has left the big four bank following a two-year stint as non-executive director.

Westpac Banking Corporation has announced that Michael Hawker has decided to step down from the board as an independent non-executive director, effective from 15 July 2023.

Mr Hawker first joined the board in December 2020 after giving up his seats on the boards of Macquarie Group and Macquarie Bank.

In that time, he has served on various committees, including the board technology, risk nominations and governance, and the legal, regulatory, and compliance committees.

Previously, he was chief executive and managing director of Insurance Australia Group from 2001 to 2008. He had also held executive positions at Westpac, having been group executive, business and consumer banking, from 1998 to 2001.

Mr Hawker is currently non-executive director of health insurance company Bupa and deputy chairman of Bupa Australia and is on the board of the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia.

Commenting on his resignation in a statement to the ASX on Monday, Westpac chairman John McFarlane thanked Mr Hawker for his tenure on the board.

“On behalf of the board, I would like to thank Mike for his contribution to Westpac. I’ve worked with Mike for many years including at Aviva and Citi and have always valued the insights and integrity he has brought to every conversation,” Mr McFarlane said.

Mr Hawker added: “I am thankful for the opportunity to sit on the Westpac board and wish the company every success for the future.”

Last week, Westpac also announced that after more than 30 years as group chief economist, Bill Evans will step down and take on a new role as senior economic adviser for Westpac, effective January 2024.

Following the announcement, Westpac revealed that assistant governor (economic) at the Reserve Bank of Australia, Luci Ellis, will succeed Mr Evans as group chief economist and will join the bank on 9 October 2023.