investor daily logo

ANZ announces 2 new appointments

By Reporter
3 minute read

The bank has appointed a new chief information security officer and has added a new non-executive director to its boards.

ANZ has announced the appointment of Maria Milosavljevic as chief information security officer (CISO), replacing Lynwen Connick, who will retire in October after six years in the role.

Dr Milosavljevic currently serves as the inaugural chief data integration officer at the Department of Defence, where she is responsible for building data and AI capabilities.

She was previously the CISO and chief data officer at Services Australia, as well as the inaugural government CISO at the NSW government, where she established a new whole-of-government function responsible for cyber security.


At ANZ, Dr Milosavljevic will report to group executive technology and group services, Gerard Florian, and will be responsible for ensuring the bank’s information security strategy continues to address the challenging cyber security landscape and supports its digital transformation.

“Maria is an outstanding and innovative leader and expert in cyber security, with a breadth of experience across data and security in both government and the private sector,” Mr Florian said.

“She has a track record of building and running cyber, data, and analytics operations and brings to ANZ wide and deep connections with the cyber security community locally and internationally. Maria’s experience will be invaluable in continuing to protect both ANZ and our customers.”

Dr Milosavljevic will commence with ANZ on 28 August. Commenting on the departure of Ms Connick, Mr Florian said that she had a significant impact during her six years as CISO.

“Her cyber security expertise has been a tremendous asset for both ANZ and our customers at a time of great change in the industry, and we wish her continued success in her retirement,” he said.

Meanwhile, ANZ chairman Paul O’Sullivan has announced that Holly Kramer will join the boards of ANZ Group Holdings (ANZ), Australia and New Zealand Banking Group, and certain other subsidiaries of the bank on 1 August as a non-executive director.

Ms Kramer, whose appointment remains subject to meeting regulatory requirements, is described as an experienced non-executive director who has served on a wide range of major listed and unlisted boards in both Australia and New Zealand.

She is currently a director at Woolworths Group, Fonterra Co-op Limited, and Endeavour Group and has previously served as chair of Lendi Group, deputy chair of Australia Post, and director of AMP and Nine Group.

Additionally, during her executive career, Ms Kramer was chief executive officer of Best and Less and served in a number of senior customer-facing roles at Telstra, Ford, and Pacific Brands.

“I am very pleased to have Holly join the boards. She has extensive experience as a board director, having chaired remuneration, sustainability, and audit and risk committees on a range of major boards,” Mr O’Sullivan said.

“She also brings a strong focus on people, customers and culture, as well as extensive experience in retail and digital channels. I am sure she will make a significant contribution to the boards.”

Ms Kramer will stand for election at the next ANZ annual general meeting on 21 December.

ANZ announces 2 new appointments

The bank has appointed a new chief information security officer and has added a new non-executive director to its boards.

ID logo

Comments powered by CComment